Establishment of Internet Advisory Board

9 March 2000

The Minister of State at the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform, Mary Hanafin T.D., today, 9 March, announced that the Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, John O'Donoghue T.D., has established a new non-statutory Internet Advisory Board to monitor and oversee the self-regulation structures recommended by the Working Group on the Illegal and Harmful Use of the Internet.

The self-regulation approach to Internet regulation has been adopted world-wide and the Board will help and support the Irish Service Provider industry to deliver an effective self-regulation environment. In addition to monitoring progress on self-regulation, the Board will be looking at the progress of the new public hotline established by the industry for reporting child pornography; encouraging the adoption of codes of practice and other initiatives which will ensure that self- regulation works in practice.

In making the announcement, the Minister said that the Internet held out enormous potential for the betterment of society but that as with all major societal developments we must, in embracing that potential, be aware that it can be used negatively by those who constantly seek new ways to carry out old crimes. "Flexible structures were needed", she said, "to respond to these challenges and the Internet Board was an example of the new relationships required to address the shared responsibilities implied in addressing "downside issues" relating to the Internet."

Mr Eamonn Barnes, former Director of Public Prosecutions has been appointed as the Chairperson of the Board and membership includes representatives from the service provider industry, the Gardaí, Government, education sectors, child protection interests and legal experts. The Board will report annually to Government and industry on progress.

A full membership list is detailed below.

Membership of Internet Advisory Board

Eamonn Barnes, Chairman

John Haskins, Department of Justice, Equality & Law Reform

Lorraine Benson, Department of Enterprise, Trade & Employment

John Kelly, An Garda Síochána

Fintan Lawler, Internet Service Providers Association

Brenda Boylan, Information Society Commission

Tom Lynch, Data Protection Commission

Audrey Conlon, Film Censor's Office

Cormac Callanan, Hotline Director

Jerome Morrissey, National Centre for Technology in Education Robert Clark, Faculty of Law, UCD Max Taylor, Child Studies Unit, NUI Cork Marguerite McCormick, Barnardos David Harvey, Independent Programme Producer Patrick D'Arcy, County Manager

Marie Murray, Clinical Psychologist